



Joint Press Release

Monday, December 6, 2021 For Immediate Release For more information contact: Elizabeth L. Lawson, Asst. Secretary, ILCAC elawson@sura.org; 202-408-7872

ILCAC Awards McCartor Fund Fellowships

Washington, DC – The International Light Cone Advisory Committee (ILCAC), incorporated in the Commonwealth of Virginia in 2008 under SURA sponsorship, continued its McCartor Fellowship program by awarding three young scientists at its annual conference in Jeju, Korea, November 29 – December 4, 2021.

Awards were made during LC2021 to three promising young physicists: Patrick Barry, postdoc at Jefferson Lab, Newport News, supervised by Prof. Chueng-Ryong Ji for his Ph.D at North Carolina State University; Jiangshan Lan, postdoc at Institute of Modern Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, supervised by Prof. Xingbo Zhao at IMP; Simone Rodini, postdoc at the University of Regensburg, supervised by Prof. Barbara Pasquini and Prof. Alessandro Bacchetta at the University of Pavia. All three awardees participated in LC2021 remotely, presenting their recent research works in the Ceremonial Session of the McCartor Awards.

ILCAC board chair Prof. Chueng-Ryong Ji and LC2021 chair Prof. Yongseok Oh presented the Award Certificates to the three award recipients. In this Ceremony, Emeritus Prof. Stanley Brodsky presented congratulatory remarks noting that the McCartor Award was named after the late professor Gary McCartor to honor his achievements and leadership efforts with the aim of the program in assisting promising young scientists in pursuing light-front related research. Brodsky commented, "Gary not only provided scientific leadership for our field but was very active in developing support for young scientists. In particular, he participated in conceptualizing the fund to provide training and travel support enabling young scientists to develop their expertise and contribute to forefront physics research. This fund was founded after his death and is named for him."

LC2021 attracted 231 participants, 38 in-person and 193 online, including many young researchers who attended this annual meeting for the first time. Judging from the number of youthful attendees, and their excellent presentations, the competition for next year's McCartor Fund Fellowships will be as keen as ever.



Photo taken after the Ceremony of McCartor Awards. Three awardees joined remotely are shown in the screen: Patrick Barry (top left), Jiangshan Lan (bottom middle) and Simone Rodini (top right). LC2021 Chair Yongseok Oh (right) and ILCAC Board Chair Chueng-Ryong Ji (left) joined in person.

###

The Southeastern Universities Research Association (SURA) is a consortium of 60 leading research institutions in the southern United States and the District of Columbia established in 1980 as a non-stock, nonprofit corporation. SURA serves as an entity through which colleges, universities, and other organizations may cooperate with one another, and with government and industry in acquiring, developing, and using laboratories and other research facilities and in furthering knowledge and the application of that knowledge in the physical, biological, and other natural sciences and engineering. For more information, visit <u>www.sura.org</u>.

ILCAC, Inc., incorporated in 2008 under the sponsorship of SURA, advances research in quantum field theory, particularly light-cone quantization methods applicable to the solution of physical problems. To fulfill its mission, ILCAC sponsors conferences, workshops, and institutes devoted to quantum field theory and various subfields of physics; and provides research fellowships for PhD work, and funds sabbatical leave programs for researchers in these fields. For more information, visit <u>www.ilcacinc.org</u>.